Subscribe to Blog Post being Published - Front- & Back-End Development - Front- & Back-End Development - Progress Community
 Front- & Back-End Development

Subscribe to Blog Post being Published

• Subscribe to Blog Post being Published
  • Goal To grab the URL of a blog post from a specific blog when it has been published.

Hello, I am new to Sitefinity and have searched Google and the forums and can't quite find a good example or information on what I need to know.

The closest things I've found so far:
    https://docs.sitefinity.com/for-developers-idataevent
    https://knowledgebase.progress.com/articles/Article/Overwriting-the-default-LifecycleDecorator-for-a-Content-manager
    https://docs.sitefinity.com/for-developers-dynamic-modules-events

So first question. For my needs, which route should I go between IDataEvent and IDynamicContentUpdatedEvent?

Second. Should I be subscribed to Updated or Created? I would assume Created only fires once and does not fire again when the post is published (no posts would be created in a published state). If Updated, I can tell if the post is published by checking its status or IsPublished. But how would I differentiate between an update to publish a post and an update to an already published post? I would only want to run the code once when the post is initially published.

Third. Assuming that the item is of type BlogPost, How can I tell what Blog it belongs to? For example, under Blogs there is Blog1 and Blog2. Would I get this from BlogPost.Parent.Title?

Fourth. Does BlogPost.ItemDefaultUrl return the canonical url of the post? Is it also full path or just relative?

Thanks!

Update 1

I'm currently trying the IDataEvent route but am hitting a roadblock. Here is the gist so far. I'm also still not seeing a way to determine the answer to question 2.

void Content_Action(IDataEvent @event)

var action = @event.Action;
            var contentType = @event.ItemType;
            var itemId = @event.ItemId;