Performance penalty from inheritance - Forum - OpenEdge Development - Progress Community

Performance penalty from inheritance

Forum

Performance penalty from inheritance

• I'm a newbie to a lot of this stuff and we have experienced terrible performance hits with our GUI for .NET Forms, at least those with a lot of controls.  My question is if there is a performance hit on the classes that you create that inherit other classes is that same performance hit in classes/objects that we don't have control of?  For example the Infragistics UltraGrid instantiation?

• I'm a newbie to a lot of this stuff and we have experienced terrible performance hits with our GUI for .NET Forms, at least those with a lot of controls.  My question is if there is a performance hit on the classes that you create that inherit other classes is that same performance hit in classes/objects that we don't have control of?  For example the Infragistics UltraGrid instantiation?

When it get's better after loading the same Controls the second time in the same session it's the loading of the huge Infragistics assemblies. That's a one time performance hit.

• Also, note that the .NET controls are being instantiated by the CLR, not the AVM, so whatever happens there is what happens to any .NET class being instantiated.  Of course, I suppose there is a potential for some overhead in creating links across the bridge, but I don't know if that has been tested.

Consulting in Model-Based Development, Transformation, and Object-Oriented Best Practice  http://www.cintegrity.com

• tamhas wrote:

Also, note that the .NET controls are being instantiated by the CLR, not the AVM, so whatever happens there is what happens to any .NET class being instantiated.  Of course, I suppose there is a potential for some overhead in creating links across the bridge, but I don't know if that has been tested.