Serious problem: Unpublish or Set to Redirect a page deletes its content and revision history! - Bugs & Issues - Bugs & Issues - Progress Community

Serious problem: Unpublish or Set to Redirect a page deletes its content and revision history!

 Bugs & Issues

Serious problem: Unpublish or Set to Redirect a page deletes its content and revision history!

  • Serious problem: Unpublish or Set to Redirect a page deletes its content and revision history!
  • We just tested the following scenario:

    1. Create a page and add content
    2. Publish it
    3. Revision history shows correctly
    4. Unpublish and set page to redirect to other page
    5. Revision history and page content are deleted permanently.

    This is probably by design, but it has some serious consequences:
    1. There's no warning to say that by changing this page to a redirect page, you'll lose its content as well as all revision history
    2. There's absolutely no way to recover from this

    ?

    Regards,
    Jacques
  • I've just encountered the same thing, some 3+ years later. Really terrible way to treat the content of the page. If there's content, it should be preserved at least in the revision history. Nothing like recreating pages!
  • Hello,

    Please refer to the below KB article for more details on this:

    http://www.sitefinity.com/developer-network/knowledge-base/details/restore-page-content-and-revision-history-when-switching-a-standard-page-to-a-redirect-page-and-then-convert-it-back-to-a-standard-page

    Regards,
    Sabrie Nedzhip
    Telerik
     
    Do you want to have your say in the Sitefinity development roadmap? Do you want to know when a feature you requested is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Sitefinity CMS Ideas&Feedback Portal and vote to affect the priority of the items