input-output temptable for window to form

Posted by bart.syryn on 29-Jun-2017 03:20

Hi, I'm new in developing gui for .net, so still learning. I have a 'window' .W and would like to pass and return a temp-table to a form. The form has a grid and a bindingsource where I fill a dataset with the temp-table I recieved in the constructor. I can display the data in a grid. I can change the data of the temp-table in the grid. But I really haven't find a method to pass the changed data in the temp-table back to the .w Window. Find many examples, but nothings works.. Seems such a simple thing, I didn't expect, that it could be so difficult....

Posted by bart.syryn on 30-Jun-2017 01:34

Hi Mark,

Thanks for replying.

I've implemented your first option.

I tried the second one, but problem is that I pass the temp-tables to the constructor. I wasn't able to create the 'instance' to access a method from a progress window. Cause was that declaring the instance with the temp-tables.

DEFINE PUBLIC STATIC PROPERTY instance AS CLASS dgsoortstrijkNO-UNDO

GET():

IF instance = ? THEN instance = NEW dgsoortstrijk().

RETURN instance.

END GET.

PRIVATE SET.

CONSTRUCTOR PUBLIC dgsoortstrijkvolgorde(INPUT P_windowhandle AS HANDLE, INPUT-OUTPUT TABLE tt-typestrijk BIND, INPUT-OUTPUT TABLE tt-soortstrijk BIND):

Regards

Bart

All Replies

Posted by Mark Davies on 29-Jun-2017 03:53

Hi,

You have two options - depending on how you want to approach this.

You will need to pass the handle of the window - you are looking for the persistent handle to the window (THIS-PROCEDURE) in your Form class - perhaps pass it in via the constructor as you are doing with your temp-table. This way, you can run an internal procedure available in your window from the class and just pass the temp-table with changes back - using the standard RUN <procedure> IN <proc handle> (<params>).