JWT token - how to read?

Posted by goo on 04-Jul-2018 05:49

I am receiving an JWT token and wonder if there is a simple way of reading the info? I have checked it with jwt.io and can see the data I would like to read. Is there a way of read header and payload with progress? I am TOTALLY new to this security consept, and reading to understand. 

Posted by SJProgress on 04-Jul-2018 07:22

I once came across that there are different implementations of b64-encode, with different numbers of "=" at the and.

So if you add one or two "=" to your string it will work.

Furthermore this seems to be B64URL encoded and not B64. So you will have to replace "-" with "+" and "_" with "/" before Decoding with B64-DECODE.

All Replies

Posted by Dileep Dasa on 04-Jul-2018 05:53

No, Progress doesn't provide any such tool to extract header and payload information from a JWT token.

Posted by jmls on 04-Jul-2018 05:56

Actually, it's easy to extract the data using progress. **

Basically a JWT is just a string with the following format:

header.payload.signature

where header, payload and signature are base64 encoded strings

when decoded, header and payload are stringified json objects

you must remember that a JWT  is only encoded and signed - the contents are *not* encrypted

** never having done this, take my comment with a pinch of salt ;)

Posted by goo on 04-Jul-2018 06:02

I have tried to use base64-encode on both header and payload, without luck :-/ so I believe it is because token has been webified, so how to unwebify it and read it is my question. Is there other tools I can use? What about Auth0 ?

Posted by Mike Fechner on 04-Jul-2018 06:04

Wouldn’t you have to use base64-decode ? The data is already encoded.

Posted by jmls on 04-Jul-2018 06:06

do you mean base64-decode ?

base64 is a standard for transmitting the data across - if you've got a valid jwt then it should be .. valid .. ;) No such thing as a "webified" base64 string.